Counting down the days

18 days until I retire. On paper it doesn’t look feasible.  But with God all things are possible.  My mind keeps going to all the firsts and lasts.

I’ve had my last flu shot, my last online class for work, my last winter in the trenches of healthcare, no more uniforms. And no more long shifts full of human suffering. No more getting yelled at by confused people. 

This will be my first spring in 40 years that I haven’t had a job. I’ve done a survey of my cameras.  I want to start taking gorgeous pictures again. I’ve been squirreling away some books, I want to take up reading in earnest. I’ve started a lose change collection so I can start yardsaling again. I want to fix up my chicken tractor and start having fresh eggs. I want to have a garden this year, and plant raspberry and blueberry bushes. I’m going to treat myself to a hot glue gun when I retire, the possibilities are endless. 

I can’t wait. It’s been a long time since I’ve been this excited about life.

Leave a Reply

